Arizona has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation. If you are charged with a DUI in Arizona, you face mandatory minimum jail time and substantial fines. The amount of minimum fines and jail time depends on the type of DUI you were charged with and whether you have any prior DUIs.

Depending on your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) you may face one out of three types of DUIs:

Regular DUI, 0.08+ BAC

Extreme DUI, 0.15+ BAC

Super Extreme DUI, 0.20+ BAC


Here are the minimum punishments you face for each type of DUI. Although these are the mandatory minimums that a court must order under Arizona law, the judge may order more jail time and fines than the minimum required by law.

Regular DUI, 0.08+ BAC

No Priors

  • 10 days (reducible to 1 day with completion of alcohol screening)
  • Minimum $1250 fines
  • (can order) community service
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school
  • 1 Prior

  • 90 days (reducible to 30 days with completion of screening)
  • Minimum $3000 fines
  • Minimum 30 hours community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school


  • Extreme DUI, 0.15+ BAC

    No Priors

  • 30 consecutive days (reducible to 9 days if ignition interlock is installed in car)
  • Minimum $2500 fines
  • (can order) community service
  • Ignition interlock device for at least 1 year
  • Must attend driving school
  • 1 prior
  • 120 days, 60 must be served consecutively (i.e., back-to-back)
  • Minimum $3,250 fines
  • Minimum 30 hours community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for a minimum of 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Driving school


  • Super Extreme DUI, 0.20+ BAC

    No Priors

  • 45 consecutive days jail (reducible to 14 days if ignition interlock is installed in car)
  • Minimum $2750 fines
  • (can order) community service
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend driving school
  • 1 Prior

  • 180 days jail, 90 must be served consecutively (i.e., back-to-back)
  • Minimum $3750 fines
  • Minimum 30 hours community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for a minimum of 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Must attend Driving school


  • Aggravated DUI

    In some circumstances, a driver may also be charged with what is known as aggravated DUI. This is a felony, and it is punishable with increased fines and with a prison term. The minimum prison term for an aggravated DUI is some cases is between four to eight months.



    Schedule a Free Consultation

    If you have been charged with a DUI, you should call an experienced attorney who will fight to defend you against the charges. Call the Salwin Law Group at 602-362-0033 to schedule a free consultation.